No. | 8 of 2022.

Income Tax (Amendment) Act 2022.

Certified on: 16 MAY 2822



No. 18 of 2022.

Income Tax (Amendment) Act 2022.

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS.

- 1. Interpretation (Amendment of Section 4).
- 2. Exemption of certain interest income (Amendment of Section 35).
- 3. New Section 35B.

"35B. INCOME TAX EXEMPTION OF A MANUS SPECIAL ECONOMIC REGION COMPANY.".



No. | 9 of 2022.

AN ACT

entitled

Income Tax (Amendment) Act 2022,

Being an Act to amend the Income Tax Act 1959,

MADE by the National Parliament to come into operation in accordance with a notice in the National Gazette by the Head of State, acting with, and in accordance with, the advice of the Minister.

1. INTERPRETATION (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 4).

Section 4 of the Principal Act is amended by inserting immediately after the term "Management fee" the following new definition:

""Manus Special Region Company" has the same meaning given to it in the *Manus Special Economic Region Act* 2022;".

Economic Region Act 2022 specifies that such interest is to be exempted.".

- 2. EXEMPTION OF CERTAIN INTEREST INCOME (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 35).

 Section 35 of the Principal Act is amended in Subsection (2) by inserting immediately after Paragraph (g) the following new paragraph:
- "(h) interest derived by a lender on money lent to a Manus Special Economic Region Company to the extent that the certificate held by the company under *Manus Special*

Income Tax (Amendment)

3. NEW SECTION 35B.

The Principal Act is amended by inserting immediately after Section 35A the following new section:

"35B. INCOME TAX EXEMPTION OF A MANUS SPECIAL ECONOMIC REGION COMPANY.

The income of a Manus Special Economic Region Company is exempt from income tax.".

- I hereby certify that the above is a fair print of the *Income Tax (Amendment) Act* 2022, which has been made by the National Parliament.

Clerk of the National Parliament.

1 6 MAY 2022

I hereby certify that the *Income Tax (Amendment) Act* 2022, was made by the National Parliament on 21 April 2022.

Speaker of the National Parliament.

1 6 MAY 2022