VEW HEBRIDES REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY

-

RA3/WP/8 18 March 1980 Original:English

TO DISTRICT ADMINISTRATION

REGULATION

Explanatory Noto

The purpose of this law is to replace the old District Agents by Government Officers called District Commissioners.

They will have similar functions to those of the District Agents.

Under Section 2 the new District Commissioners do not have responsibility concerning matters still reserved by the Motropolitan powers, namely -

- (a) defence;
- (b) internal security;
- (c) external relations and
- (d) currency and exchange.

At Independence the Exchange of Notes will cease to have effect and the District Commissioners will take over such functions in the laws with regard to those matters as are now exercised by the District Agents of the two Metropolitan powers. It will be noted that the law provides that the present Districts may be changed.

18 March 1980

A.G. Kalkoa Minister of home affairs

DRAFTMANS NOTE

The Resident Commissioners Joint Regulation bringing this Resolution into force as a law will provide that this resolution will be cited as The District Administration and shall come into operation on the day of its publication in the New Hebrides Gazette.

RA3/D/8-P

٢,

DISTRICT ADMINISTRATION

REGULATION

ARRANGEMENTS OF SECTIONS

- 1. Administrative Districts.
- 2. Substitution of District Commissioners for District Agents.
- 3. Variation of Schedule.

5 A. -

<u>S C H E D U L ES</u>

Northern District Central District No 1 Central District No 2 Southern District

The Districts above montioned shall be the same as the district constituted by virtue of Article 2 (2) of the Anglo French Protocal of 1914.

NEW HEBRIDES

REPRESENTATIVE ASSEMBLY

RA3/D/8-P 18 March 1980 Original:English

DRAFT RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION NO OF 1980

relating to District Administration

The Representative Assembly of the New Hebrides at its sitting on the 1980 horeby resolves and decides in accordance with Article 23 of the Schedule to the Exchange of Notes of the 15th September 1977 to adopt the following measures :-

Administrative 1. Districts.

- 1.(1) The New Hebrides shall be divided into the administrative districts referred to in the Schedule.
 (2) Each district shall be administered by a public officer called a District Commissioner, who shall be the
 - called a District Commissioner, who shall be the representative of the Government and such number of assistants as shall be necessary.

Substitution of District Commissioners for District Agents.

2.

з.

The public officer referred to in Section 1 (2) is substituted for the District Agent whether specifically or impliedly French or British in every Joint Regulation not relating to a matter which by virtue of Article 24 of the Schedule to the Exchange of Notes of the 15th September 1977 is the sole responsibility of the Metropolitan Governments.

The Schedule may be modified or replaced by Order by the Chief Minister acting in accordance with the advice of the Council of Ministors.

SCHEDULE:

Northern District Central District No 1 Central District No 2 Southern District

The Districts above mentioned shall be the same as the districts constituted by virtue of Article 2 (2) of the Anglo French Protocal of 1914.